Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Karen Gould Prize in Art History
Books published in 2018 are eligible for the 2021 Gould Prize

Due to COVID-related warehouse closures and delays, e-galleys of nominated books may be submitted instead of hardcopies this year. Please email e-galleys along with the required PDF reviews to Executive Director Lisa Fagin Davis (

The Karen Gould Prize, established by an endowed gift from Lewis Gould in 2016, is awarded annually for a book or monograph (conference proceedings and collected essays are not eligible) in medieval art history judged by the selection committee to be of outstanding quality. To be eligible, the author must be a member in good standing of the Medieval Academy of America.

Karen Gould (1946 – 2012) was an art historian specializing in manuscript illumination and was the author of The Psalter and Hours of Yolande of Soissons (Speculum Anniversary Monographs) (Medieval Academy of America, 1978). The prize established in her name consists of a certificate and a monetary award of $1,000. It is announced at the annual meeting of the academy each spring. The first Prize will be given in 2018.

Current Winner of the Karen Gould Prize

Click here for submission instructions.

 2020    Benjamin Anderson, Cosmos and Community in Early Medieval Art (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2017)

 2019 Ivan Drpić, Epigram, Art, and Devotion in Later Byzantium (Cambridge University Press, 2016)

 2018 Elina Gertsman, Worlds Within: Opening the Medieval Shrine Madonna (Penn State University Press, 2015) Christina Maranci, Vigilant Powers: Three Churches of Early Medieval Armenia (Brepols, 2015)

Copyright ©2020 The Medieval Academy of America
Opinions expressed by members in print, video, or online represent their personal views, not necessarily those of the Medieval Academy of America.

The Medieval Academy of America
6 Beacon St., Ste 500
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: (617) 491-1622
Fax: (617) 492-3303