Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Haskins Medal
Books published between 2015-2019 are eligible for the 2021 Haskins Medal

Due to COVID-related warehouse closures and delays, e-galleys of nominated books may be submitted instead of hardcopies this year. Please email e-galleys along with the required PDF reviews to Executive Director Lisa Fagin Davis (

The Haskins Medal is awarded annually by the Medieval Academy of America for a distinguished book in the field of medieval studies. It is the Academy's most prestigious award and is usually granted to a relatively senior scholar for a work of their maturity. Seniority is not an absolute requirement, but the award seems especially worthy if it recognizes both a distinguished book and a fruitful career.

First presented in 1940, the award honors Charles Homer Haskins, the noted medieval historian, who was a founder of the Medieval Academy and its second President. The award is announced at the annual meeting of the Academy each spring. The medal was designed in 1939 by Graham Carey, and the name of the recipient and the year of the award are engraved on the edge.

Submission Instructions

Winner of the Haskins Medal

List of Recipients

Copyright ©2020 The Medieval Academy of America
Opinions expressed by members in print, video, or online represent their personal views, not necessarily those of the Medieval Academy of America.

The Medieval Academy of America
6 Beacon St., Ste 500
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: (617) 491-1622
Fax: (617) 492-3303